Skip to main content
Publish date:

Bowl-Eligible College Football Teams (After Week 9)

Deven Thompkins, Utah State Aggies Football

Deven Thompkins and the Utah State Aggies are going bowling after beating Hawaii 51-31 on Saturday

The initial College Football Playoff rankings are set to be unveiled on Tuesday, which means the upcoming bowl season isn't too far away. Especially when you consider that more than 30 teams have already punched their postseason tickets.

Related: College Football Bowl Projections for 2021-22

There are 41 bowl games scheduled between Dec. 17 and Jan. 4, including the two College Football Playoff Semifinals (Cotton Bowl Classic, Orange Bowl) with the national championship game set for Jan. 10. That means 82 teams across the FBS will get a chance to play beyond the regular season.

Recommended Articles

Only six more teams picked up that all-important sixth win this past weekend. Included in this group is Utah State. The Aggies from the Mountain West are 6-2 in head coach Blake Anderson's first season.

There is a large group of teams that is just one win from bowl eligibility so don't be surprised if this list grows quite a bit by next week.

Bowl-Eligible Teams

  • Air Force (Mountain West)
  • Alabama (SEC)
  • Appalachian State (Sun Belt)
  • Auburn (SEC)
  • Baylor (Big 12)
  • BYU (Independent)
  • Cincinnati (AAC)
  • Coastal Carolina (Sun Belt)
  • Fresno State (Mountain West)
  • Georgia (SEC)
  • Houston (AAC)
  • Iowa (Big Ten)
  • Kentucky (SEC)
  • Liberty (Independent)
  • Louisiana (Sun Belt)
  • Michigan (Big Ten)
  • Michigan State (Big Ten)
  • Minnesota (Big Ten)
  • NC State (ACC)
  • Nevada (Mountain West)
  • Northern Illinois (MAC)
  • Notre Dame (Independent)
  • Ohio State (Big Ten)
  • Oklahoma (Big 12)
  • Oklahoma State (Big 12)
  • Ole Miss (SEC)
  • Oregon (Pac-12)
  • Pittsburgh (ACC)
  • San Diego State (Mountain West)
  • SMU (AAC)
  • Texas A&M (SEC)
  • Utah State (Mountain West)
  • UTEP (Conference USA)
  • UTSA (Conference USA)
  • Virginia (ACC)
  • Wake Forest (ACC)

One Win From Bowl Eligibility

  • Arizona State (Pac-12)
  • Arkansas (SEC)
  • Clemson (ACC)
  • Eastern Michigan (MAC)
  • Florida Atlantic (Conference USA)
  • Iowa State (Big 12)
  • Kansas State (Big 12)
  • Marshall (Conference USA)
  • Maryland (Big Ten)
  • Mississippi State (SEC)
  • Oregon State (Pac-12)
  • Penn State (Big Ten)
  • Purdue (Big Ten)
  • San Jose State (Mountain West)
  • South Alabama (Sun Belt)
  • Syracuse (ACC)
  • Texas Tech (Big 12)
  • UAB (Conference USA)
  • UCF (AAC)
  • UCLA (Pac-12)
  • Utah (Pac-12)
  • Washington State (Pac-12)
  • Western Michigan (MAC)
  • Wisconsin (Big Ten)